Kay Orr and Cynthia Milligan will serve as Co-Chairs

Today U.S. Senator Ben Sasse, a member of the Senate Judiciary Committee, announced his Nebraska Justice and Judicial Nominations Advisory Commission for reviewing candidates for Senate-confirmed federal offices in Nebraska such as U.S. Attorney and U.S. Marshal.  

Senator Sasse’s Nebraska Justice and Judicial Nominations Advisory Commission is an independent body of well-respected Nebraska leaders that will review applications, interview candidates, and make recommendations to Senator Sasse. Each Senator makes his or her recommendation to the White House. After the White House sends a nomination to the Senate, the Senate Judiciary Committee will begin its confirmation process which, by longstanding precedent, requires the approval of both home-state senators.

“Nebraskans give our U.S. Attorney and U.S. Marshals real power and major responsibility to enforce our nation’s laws,” said Senator Sasse. “Candidates have to fit a tall order: surefire integrity, talent, and reverence for the law. In order to faithfully uphold my constitutional responsibility to give the President my best advice and consent on these nominees, I’m seeking the independent judgment of these Nebraska leaders. I’m grateful for their service and especially pleased that the commission will be in the steady hands of Governor Orr and Cynthia Milligan.”  

“I am pleased and honored to have this opportunity, along with other Nebraskans, to assist Senator Sasse in finding the most qualified people for these positions,” said former Governor Kay Orr.

“This is important work,” said Cynthia Milligan. “The public servants who enforce the laws should be picked by the Nebraskans who follow the laws. That’s what we want this open process to help ensure. I am grateful to Senator Sasse for his leadership on this and am ready to get to work.” 

Sasse Nebraska Justice and Judicial Nominations Advisory Commission

  • Co-Chair, Kay Orr - Former Governor of Nebraska.
  • Co-Chair, Cynthia Milligan - Businesswoman, Dean Emeritus of the College of Business Administration at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.
  • Patrick Borchers - Former Dean Creighton University School of Law.
  • Weysan Dun - Retired Special Agent in Charge of the FBI’s Omaha Division.
  • Randy Fair - Keith County Attorney.
  • Joe Stecher - Former U.S. Attorney for the District of Nebraska under President George W. Bush.
  • Lyle Wheeler - Attorney and Former University of Nebraska College of Law Federalist Society President.

Additional information on the application process can be found here. Forms for U.S. Attorney can be found here and forms for U.S. Marshals can be found here. Completed applications must be submitted by close of business March 13, 2017.

U.S. Attorneys are the chief federal law enforcement officers in their districts and work to faithfully defend the constitution and execute federal laws. Under federal law, U.S. Attorneys are responsible for prosecuting criminal cases brought by the Federal Government, prosecuting and defending civil cases in which the United States is a party, and collecting debts owed to the Federal Government. 

The U.S. Marshals Services is the law enforcement arm of the federal court system. U.S. Marshals have some of the broadest arrest authority among various law enforcement agencies and have responsibility for fugitive investigations.