Resolution Honoring UNL Volleyball Champs Passes Senate

Fischer-Sasse Resolution Praises Huskers Players, Coaches, and Staff

February 3, 2016

Yesterday, the U.S. Senate unanimously passed a resolution congratulating the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL) women’s volleyball team on winning the 2015 NCAA Division I Championship. Nebraska Senators Deb Fischer and Ben Sasse introduced the resolution earlier this week.

Senator Fischer released the following statement:

“The Huskers’ victory brings tremendous pride to the state of Nebraska and loyal fans across the country. I am happy to recognize their outstanding achievement. Congratulations to the team’s talented athletes, coaches, and staff on your incredible national championship win.”

Senator Sasse released the following statement:

“Go Big Red! Nebraskans couldn’t be more proud ofthis volleyball team, the coaching staff, and the entire Athletic Department. The Cornhuskers won this National Championship trophy the Nebraska way— with hard work, sportsmanship, and heart.

“We’re proud of the foundation and winning tradition Coach Pettit and Coach Cook have built.Winning the National Championship in Omaha, and in front a record setting crowd of Huskers fans, is a fitting reward for the best fans in college sports.”

The Fischer-Sasse resolution requests that the Secretary of the Senate prepare official copies of the resolution for presentation to the president of the University of Nebraska, UNL’s athletic director, and the head coach of the UNL volleyball team.

The full text of the resolution is below.

Title: Congratulating the University of Nebraska-Lincoln volleyball team for winning the 2015 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Volleyball Championship.

Whereas, on December 19, 2015, the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Cornhuskers won the 2015 National Collegiate Athletic Association (referred to in this preamble as the “NCAA”) Division I Volleyball Championship in Omaha, Nebraska in an overwhelming victory over the University of Texas Longhorns by a score of 25 to 23, 25 to 23, and 25 to 21;

Whereas the University of Nebraska-Lincoln has won 4 NCAA volleyball Championships;

Whereas the Cornhuskers ended their championship season with a 16-match winning streak and finished the year with a record of 32 wins and 4 losses;

Whereas all members of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln volleyball team, including Annika Albrecht, Olivia Boender, Kelsey Fien, Mikaela Foecke, Meghan Haggerty, Cecilia Hall, Briana Holman, Kelly Hunter, Kenzie Maloney, Alicia Ostrander, Tiani Reeves, Amber Rolfzen, Kadie Rolfzen, Brooke Smith, Sydney Townsend, and Justine Wong-Orantes, contributed to this outstanding victory;

Whereas head coach John Cook, assistant coach Chris Tamas, assistant coach Dani Busboom Kelly, volunteer assistant coach Jen Tamas, director of operations Lindsay Peterson, video coordinator Natalie Morgan, and graduate managers Dan Mader, Mike Owen, and Peter Netisingha guided this outstanding group of women to a national championship;

Whereas Mikaela Foecke was named the Most Outstanding Player of the 2015 NCAA Championship;

Whereas Justine Wong-Orantes was named the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, becoming the first Nebraska player ever to earn that award;

Whereas Kadie Rolfzen, Amber Rolfzen, and Justine Wong-Orantes were recognized as All-Americans by the American Volleyball Coaches Association, and Mikaela Foecke and Kelly Hunter received honorable mention; and

Whereas an NCAA record-breaking crowd of 17,561 volleyball fans attended the championship game, reflecting the tremendous spirit and dedication of Nebraska fans supporting the Cornhuskers as the team won the national championship: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Senate—

(1) congratulates the University of Nebraska-Lincoln volleyball team as the winner of the 2015 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Volleyball Championship;

(2) commends the University of Nebraska players, coaches, and staff for their hard work and dedication;

(3) recognizes the students, alumni, and loyal fans that supported the Cornhuskers on their journey to win another Division I Championship; and

(4) respectfully requests that the Secretary of the Senate prepare an official copy of this resolution for presentation to—

(A) the president of University of Nebraska;

(B) the athletic director of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln; and

(C) the head coach of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln volleyball team. 

Click here to read the full text of the resolution.